Windy City Media Group, October 16, 2012

CHICAGO, IL — Planned Parenthood Illinois Action (PPIA), the non-partisan political and advocacy arm of Planned Parenthood of Illinois, today announced endorsements for the November 6th election. PPIA made endorsements in races for the U. S. Congress, the Illinois Senate and the Illinois House of Representatives.

PPIA endorsed the following candidates for Congress: Bobby Rush (D-1), Jesse Jackson (D-2), Luis Gutierrez (D-4), Mike Quigley (D-5), Leslie Coolidge (D-6), Danny Davis (D-7), Tammy Duckworth (D-8), Jan Schakowsky (D-9), David Gill (D-13), and Cheri Bustos (D-17).

“After this past year’s incessant attacks on women’s healthcare in Congress, we know the importance of electing candidates who support access to reproductive healthcare, including birth control and abortion services,” said Carole Brite, President and CEO of PPIA.

PPIA endorsed the following candidates for the Illinois Senate: Willie Delgado (D-2), Mattie Hunter (D-3), Kimberly Lightford (D-4), John Cullerton (D-6), Heather Steans (D-7), Ira Silverstein (D-8), Daniel Biss (D-9), John Mulroe (D-10), Martin Sandoval (D-11), Kwame Raoul (D-13), Emil Jones (D-14), Donne Trotter (D-17), Michael Hastings (D-19), Iris Martinez (D-20), Michael Noland (D-22), Tom Cullerton (D-23), Corinne Pierog (D-25), Amanda Howland (D-26), David Page (D-27), Dan Kotowski (D-28), Julie Morrison (D-29), Terry Link (D-30), Melinda Bush (D-31), Steve Stadelman (D-34), Mike Jacobs (D-36), Christine Benson (D-38), Don Harmon (D-39), Toi Hutchinson (D-40), Linda Holmes (D-42), Dave Koehler (D-46), Michael Frerichs (D-52), Danny Stover (D-54), and James Clayborne (D-57).

“Last year the Illinois Senate passed a comprehensive, age-appropriate, and medically accurate sex education bill,” said Brite. “By electing officials who support access to comprehensive sexual and reproductive healthcare and education, we will improve the lives of all Illinoisans.”

PPIA endorsed the following candidates for the Illinois House of Representatives: Daniel Burke (D-1), Edward Acevedo (D-2), Luis Arroyo (D-3), Cynthia Soto (D-4), Kenneth Dunkin (D-5), Emanuel “Chris” Welch (D-7), Arthur Turner (D-9), Lance Tyson (D-10), Ann Williams (D-11), Sara Feigenholtz (D-12), Gregory Harris (D-13), Kelly Cassidy (D-14), Lou Lang (D-16), Laura Fine (D-17), Robyn Gabel (D-18), Robert Martwick (D-19), Bruce Randazzo (D-20), Barbara Flynn Currie (D-25), Christian Mitchell (D-26), Monique Davis (D-27), Robert Rita (D-28), Thaddeus Jones (D-29), William Davis, (D-30), Elgie Sims, Jr. (D-34), Al Riley (D-38), Maria Antonia “Toni” Berrios (D-39), Deborah Mell (D-40), Keith Farnham (D-43), Deborah O’Keefe Conroy (D-46), Dee Beaubien (I-52), Richard Rudd (D-54), Martin Moylan (D-55), Michelle Mussman (D-56), Elaine Nekritz (D-57), Scott Drury (D-58), Carol Sente (D-59), Sid Mathias (R-59), Ed Erwin (D-61), Sandy Cole (R-62), Charles “Chuck” Jefferson (D-67), Carl Wasco (D-68), Mike Smiddy (D-71), Patrick Verschoore (D-72), Camille Lilly (D-78), Anthony DeLuca (D-80), Emily McAsey (D-85), Thomas Boken (D-90), Jehan Gordon (D-92), Tom Cross (R-97), Natalie Manley (D-98), Naomi Jakobsson (D-103), Michael Langendorf (D-104), and Eddie Lee Jackson (D-114).

“Yet again in the Illinois House, a woman’s right to access healthcare without government intrusion is under attack,” said Brite. “In order to protect our rights, we must stand behind candidates who stand up for the women and families of Illinois.”

All pro-choice/pro-Planned Parenthood incumbents receive an endorsement regardless of the position of the opponent.